Skip to content

Alphabet Soup

August 8, 2013

Clearly, I do not type well when I am under duress.  Sadly, this might not be much better, but here it goes anyway…

Random Tursday madness:

The helplessness of being the baby of the family is starting to wear off, WOOOO HOOOOO!  The little one has learned to make quesadillas without burning herself and without burning down the house. Yay! She makes a darn good non-paleo food 😦 baby chef, finally!  “Mom, we need salsa, sour cream and some chiles or bell peppers to do this really good…” Bad grammar, but still music to my ears. Bad momma that I am, I am letting the child hone her skills in the kitchen using pre-packaged mixes and tortillas and even some evil, evil bread.  Once she does that with some proficiency, then she can go hardcore paleo.  It’s a transition process now anyway, since during the school year we do our weekday cooking here…… awwww snap…… there won’t be anymore weekends at the farm.  Nevermind,  Back to the tiny chef, she is so proud to use the stove and I am ecstatic that she is finally interested in the kitchen. As much as I enjoy her whining about not being waited on hand and foot, this is an exciting time for me.  The kitchen is my classroom, plates become blank canvases for masterpieces and miserable failures.  All profitable for learning. Flavor profiles, math, science, nutrition, safety, responsibility…and burnt stuff.  Yeah, burnt stuff is just as important as all the rest.  First BIG math lesson will be to triple the recipes I use for my BIL’s surprise 40th party.  Fractions make for some spectacular kitchen failures, and more than a few laughs.  In case you are wondering, 3/4 of a cup of baking soda instead of 3/4 of a teaspoon in chocolate chip cookie dough makes beautiful looking cookies that are not totally inedible, but they can also double as ninja throwing stars. Ladies and Gentlemen, do not try that at home.

While the cheese is melting on the next batch of Little-Chef-sadillas, let’s get back to the bigger problems.  There is obviously a giant problem with the legal documents being used to blackmail B, not the least of which is the threat of having my legal name tied to a physical address.  For starters, they put my kids and I at risk, but I already said that last time.  Next, we have the problem of B’s name being tied with mine which makes him a potential target too… and you have no idea how long it took me to realize that… and I didn’t figure it out on my own.  Several hours on the phone.  Crisis Center Director, AG offices in two states, Victim Advocates, Governor’s Ombudsman, County Prosecutor, Sheriff, Social Workers, and even a dude with “Special” his title, and, the word after ‘Special’ wasn’t ‘Ed’.  It is exhausting.  There are no specific statutes covering “outing” a crime victim on the state level, those are on the federal level, and they are seldom used so everyone has their panties in a wad, and a few rumpled pairs of boxers too.  The people who are helping me that are good at their jobs are concerned and somewhat clueless.  The ones who are great at their jobs are taking it as a challenge on both a personal and professional level.

Meanwhile, I meet with my attorney tomorrow.  I did an internship with his office and his paralegal is one of the smartest, most capable, and competent women I have ever met. My attorney a bad ass, and I would be lying if I said that he wasn’t somewhat of a security blanket for me.  If anyone in the world can help me, it is him.  There is a very, very good reason that i had already asked for a referral for B before the paperwork was even drawn up by his dad.  Only now, I will be walking a very, very fine line to avoid any conflict of interest.  FML  I am a selfish little snowflake, no?  I was so busy being frightened for my kids that I didn’t even realize the risk that B took on in choosing to be with me. I can’t do this.  The girls’ safety is my primary concern.  Controlling my own fear runs a close second.  Assuming responsibility for B is more than I can handle and who knows if he is even going to step up and face off with his dad…

Drama, drama, drama… stay tuned.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

